## Petition letter to EASA 2022 Scientific Committee

2022-02-16

Dear Colleagues,

By analyzing the 190 panels in the forthcoming EASA conference, we realize there is an unprecedented reduction in the number of panels dedicated to the history of anthropology.

Unlike previous EASA conferences, this year there is only one panel dedicated to the history of anthropology (<u>P155</u>), which is the panel that officially represents HOAN following the vote that took place within our <u>Advisory Board</u>.

This is disturbing because HOAN is one of the largest EASA networks with over 260 members. Moreover, the history of anthropology is an important subfield within social anthropology, and risks losing a vital meeting point at the biennial EASA conferences. In this context, at least one more panel would make a difference for our scholarly community to engage with the Belfast experience.

HOAN is a dynamic network within EASA. We and EuroNet have organized an important joint conference in 2021. We promote virtual <u>HOAN meetings</u> and disseminate a Newsletter with contributions from <u>HOAN Correspondents in 22 countries in Europe and beyond</u>. All this represents a great amount of energy and time, but most of all a synergy that should be allowed to express itself in the EASA biennial conference.

Considering all this, we as HOAN convenors and the undersigned HOAN members ask the EASA Scientific Committee to take into account the aforementioned negative consequences, and kindly request its members to revert their decision by selecting at least one extra panel dedicated to the history of anthropology.

Thank you. Best regards,

## Fabiana **Dimpflmeier** (Convenor of HOAN) Frederico Delgado **Rosa** (Convenor of HOAN)

And, in alphabetical order: Orit Abuhav (Beit Berl College, Israel) Sergei Alymov (Institute of Ethnology and Anthropology, RAS, Russia) Alan Barnard (University of Edinburgh, UK) Alina Branda (Universitatea Babeş-Bolyai, Romania) Ira Bashkow (University of Virginia, USA) Diego Ballestero (Universidade Nacional de La Plata, Argentina) Hande Birkalan-Gedik (Johann Wolfgang Goethe Universität, Germany) Aleksandar Bošković (Anthropology's Ancestors Series, UK/USA) Penaloza-Patzak Brooke (University of Pennsylvania, USA) Arnauld Chandivert (University of Montpellier, France) Alice L. Conklin (Ohio State University, USA) Maria Couroucli (IIAC/EHESS/CNRS, France) Regna Darnell (University of Western Ontario, Canada) Fabio **Dei** (University of Pisa, Italy) Maria Beatrice **Di Brizio** (Laboratoire d'anthropologie sociale, France) John Eidson (Max Planck Institute, Germany) Anna Engelking (Instytut Slawistyki Polskiej Akademii Nauk, Poland) Francesco Faeta (University of Messina, Italy) Gheorghita Geana (Universitatea din București, Romania) Andre Gingrich (founding member of EASA; University of Vienna, Austria) Zsófia Hacsek (Coventry University, UK) Pieter Hovens (National Museum of World Cultures, The Netherlands) Alice B. Kehoe (Marquette University, USA) Karl-Heinz Kohl (Institut für Ethnologie, Goethe-Universität, Germany) Ingrid Kreide-Damani (Universität Bonn, Germany) Grażyna Kubica (Jagiellonian University, Poland) Adam Kuper (founding member of EASA; London School of Economics, UK) Christine Laurière (BEROSE, Héritages/CNRS) João Leal (Universidade Nova de Lisboa) Herbert S. Lewis (University of Wisconsin, USA) Jeremy MacClancy (Oxford Brookes University, UK) Edward M McDonald (Ethnosciences, Australia) Patrícia Ferraz de Matos (ICS, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal) Milos Milenkovic (University of Belgrade, Serbia) Carmen Ortiz Garcia (Instituto de Historia, CSIC, Spain) Erik Petschelies (University of São Paulo, Brazil) Thomas **Reinhardt** (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany) Gustavo Lins Ribeiro (Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana, Mexico) Machteld **Roede** (Maastricht University, The Netherlands) Vida **Savoniakaitė** (Lithuanian Institute of History, Lithuania) Peter Schröder (Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil) Petr Skalník (Independent researcher, Czech Republic) José Manuel Sobral (founding member of EASA; ICS, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal) Ildikó Sz. Kristóf (Magyar Tudományos Akadémia, Hungary) John **Tresch** (History of Anthropology Review, USA) Han F. Vermeulen (founding member of HOAN; Max Planck Institute, Germany) Ciarán Walsh (Maynooth University, Ireland) Filippo Zerilli (University of Cagliari, Italy)

