EASA webinar 9 December 2021, 11:30-13:00 CET
Open Data and its impact on anthropological research
Speakers: Katja Müller, Jessica De Largy Healy and James Rose

New European policies on Open Science pose important questions to the discipline about the management of anthropological materials collected during field research. The aim of this webinar is to explore what ‘open’ would mean for access to past and present anthropological data - written, visual, audio or audio-visual . It will also address the scientific, ethical, juridical and technical incentives and barriers to the opening of such data. The webinar engages in dialogue researchers, archivists and other data managers who can bring in their experience coming from the opening of anthropologists’ data sets.

Katja Müller conducts research into digitization, museum studies, material culture and visual anthropology, as well as energy and environmental humanities. She is Visiting Professor at the University of Technology Sydney, and Privatdozentin for social anthropology at Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg. Her latest book analyses online access to heritage material in India and Europe.

Jessica De Largy Healy is an anthropologist at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique in France. Building on long term ethnography and collaborations with Yolngu collectives in Arnhem Land (northern Australia), with a focus on digital repatriation and Indigenous archiving practices, her recent research interrogates the Open Access movement and its relevance for anthropological and Indigenous knowledge(s).

James Rose is a forensic social anthropologist with 20 years’ experience providing legal evidence and advice on Indigenous Australian claims to data assets, land and natural resources, cultural heritage, and child custody. James is Senior Research Fellow with the Melbourne School of Population and Global Health at the University of Melbourne.

Chairs: Monica Heintz (University of Paris Nanterre and EASA Secretary) and David Mills (University of Oxford and EASA Treasurer).