18th EASA Biennial Conference
EASA2024: Doing and Undoing with Anthropology University of Barcelona 23-26 July 2024.


The conference will be hosted by the Department of Anthropology of Universitat de Barcelona (UB). Catalan and Spanish anthropology have been historically peripheral to the big schools of anthropological research, but in the last decades they have experienced a considerable development, and established an open dialogue and strong ties with European and Latin American anthropology. We have opened the call for panels to our local languages, Spanish and Catalan, in addition to EASA´s official languages, English and French.


The two main venues of the conference will be the Facultat de Geografia i Història of UB and the Museu Marítim de Barcelona. They are located in El Raval, in the center of Barcelona. While being in the center, El Raval is also a social periphery: a migrant and working-class neighbourhood that has experienced an intense process of gentrification and touristification in the last decades. The neighbourhood constitutes an appropriate platform to reflect on questions of interest to European (and global) Anthropology, including the flows of people, knowledge, commodities, and capital shaping contemporary social life; the human and non-human activities involved in place-making processes; the construction of meaning and hope at the intersection of centre and periphery. We would like the neighbourhood to be a protagonist in the conference: several activities, such as visits and laboratories, will be organised within the neighbourhood.

Scientific Committee

Mikel Aramburu Otazu
María Soledad Cutuli
Aníbal G. Arregui
Anna Horolets
Hege Høyer Leivestad
Ana Ivasiuc
Ruy Llera Blanes
David Mills
Irene Sabaté Muriel
Mafe Olarte-Sierra
Roger Sansi Roca (convenor of EASA2024)
Robert D. Smith
Monica Stroe

Local Committee

Mikel Aramburu Otazu
Roger Canals Vilageliu
Camila del Mármol (convenor of EASA2024)
Ignacio Elpidio Domínguez Ruiz
Aníbal G. Arregui
Fabiola Mancinelli
Raúl Márquez Porras
Isaac Marrero Guillamón
Irene Sabaté Muriel
Roger Sansi Roca (convenor of EASA2024)